Managed to dodge the p-zone pizza effort on Monday (looked at the calorie content online and it was 1400 – my daily allowance) then went to my first MMA class at Safa Park.

I wasn’t prepared. Nowhere near. The warm-up killed me. Then sprints, press-ups, star jumps, squats, punching, kicking, planks, sit ups… I trained with the instructor which meant doing everything twice – so no chance to catch my breath.

I’ve blocked most of it out, but the pain was unreal afterwards. Driving hurt. Shampooing my hair was agony. I was waking in the night to take Panadol. I only started to feel normal at 7pm last night – and my next session was at 7.30pm.

It was better. Much better. More running, squats and punching (got a bleeding knuckle and a duo of blisters so feeling very rough and tumble) but the group is great and just being outside on the grass felt good.

Just waiting for the second wave of aches and pains to kick in before the weekend…