Bikram yoga is an intimidating concept – and after two weeks I’m still feeling a bit fearful of the classes.

I was a bit unlucky at the first one ( a packed studio, surrounded by fellow beginners and a pregnant woman) and was genuinely shocked at the high temperature. The room is heated to 43 degrees – just your average Dubai day in June – which allows greater flexibility in your muscles and perspiration on a grand scale. I’d never tasted my own sweat before Bikram… Afterwards I had to sit in the car with the AC on for 20 minutes before I felt capable of driving.

Each class lasts 90 minutes and you are taken through 26 postures and two breathing exercises – standing then on the mat. I can’t over-emphasise how difficult I find focussing, balancing and using strength in the heat. Also, having what the French call ‘il y a du au balcon’ (translation: the whole world on the balcony or, if you prefer, big boobs) then some of the postures are damn near impossible.

I’ve been going to three classes a week (the 9am on a Friday morning was an interesting one…) and it’s getting easier. There’s something reassuring about going through the same positions in the same order each time, so you know exactly how much time has passed and how many minutes you have left to endure. But I suspect this could get a little dull.

Anyway, I went last night and have done something to my back, but it’s ATM week and there’s a stupid number of parties, so I have to go today or I’ll never make it to three classes before the weekend.

I reckon it will kill or cure me.